Independent Spirit Awards 2022: Who were the winners?

THE Lost Daughter was the big winner at the 37th annual Independent Spirit Awards.

The film was named best feature, and Maggie Gyllenhaal won the awards for best screenplay and best director.

Maggie Gyllenhaal was the big winner at the Independent Spirit AwaradsCredit: Getty Images – Getty

Independent Spirit Awards 2022: Who were the winners?

Best Feature

The award is given to the producer.

  • The Lost Daughter, producers Charles Dorfman, Maggie Gyllenhaal, Osnat Handelsman Keren, Talia Kleinhendler – WINNER
  • A Chiara
  • C’mon C’mon
  • The Novice
  • Zola

Best Female Lead

  • Taylour Paige, Zola – WINNER
  • Isabelle Fuhrman, The Novice
  • Brittany S. Hall, Test Pattern
  • Patti Harrison, Together Together
  • Kali Reis, Catch the Fair One

Best Lead Male

  • Simon Rex, Red Rocket – WINNER
  • Clifton Collins Jr., Jockey
  • Frankie Faison, The Killing of Kenneth Chamberlain
  • Michael Greyeyes, Wild Indian
  • Udo Kier, Swan Song

Best Supporting Female

  • Ruth Negga, Passing – WINNER
  • Jessie Buckley, The Lost Daughter
  • Amy Forsyth, The Novice
  • Revika Reustle, Pleasure
  • Suzanna Son, Red Rocket

Best Supporting Male

  • Troy Kotsur, CODA – WINNER
  • Colman Domingo, Zola
  • Meeko Gattuso, Queen of Glory
  • Will Patton, Sweet Thing
  • Chaske Spencer, Wild Indian

Best Director

  • Maggie Gyllenhaal, The Lost Daughter – WINNER
  • Janicza Bravo, Zola
  • Lauren Hadaway, The Novice
  • Mike Mills, C’mon C’mon
  • Ninja Thyberg, Pleasure

Best Screenplay

  • Maggie Gyllenhaal, The Lost Daughter (WINNER)
  • Nikole Beckwith, Together Together
  • Janicza Bravo and Jeremy O. Harris, Zola
  • Mike Mills, C’mon C’mon
  • Todd Stephens, Swan Song

Best First Feature

This award is given to director and a producer

  • 7 Days, director Roshan Sethi and producers Liz Cardenas, Mel Eslyn – WINNER
  • Holler
  • Queen of Glory
  • Test Pattern
  • Wild Indian

Best First Screenplay

  • Michael Sarnoski; story by Vanessa Block, Michael Sarnoski, Pig – WINNER
  • Lyle Mitchell Corbine Jr., Wild Indian
  • Matt Fifer; story by Sheldon D. Brown, Cicada
  • Shatara Michelle Ford, Test Pattern
  • Fran Kranz, Mass

John Cassavetes Award

Given to the best feature made for under $500,000.

The award is given to the writer, director and producer.

  • Shiva Baby, Writer/director/producer Emma Seligman and producers Kieran Altmann, Katie Schiller, Lizzie Shapiro – WINNER
  • Cryptozoo
  • Jockey
  • Sweet Thing
  • This Is Not a War Story

Best Cinematography

  • Edu Grau, Passing – WINNER
  • Ante Cheng, Matthew Chuang, Blue Bayou
  • Lol Crawley, The Humans
  • Tim Curtin, A Chiara
  • Ari Wegner, Zola

Best Editing

  • Joi McMillon, Zola – WINNER
  • Affonso Gonçalves, A Chiara
  • Ali Greer, The Nowhere Inn
  • Lauren Hadaway, Nathan Nugent, The Novice
  • Enrico Natale, The Killing of Kenneth Chamberlain

Best Documentary

The award is given to the director and producer.

  • Summer of Soul (…Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised) director Ahmir “Questlove” Thompsonand producers David Dinerstein, Robert Fyvolent, Joseph Patel – WINNER
  • Ascensio
  • Flee
  • In the Same Breath
  • Procession

Best International Film

The award is given to the director.

  • Drive My Car (Japan), director Ryusuke Hamaguchi – WINNER
  • Compartment No. 6 (Finland/Russia)
  • Parallel Mothers (Spain)
  • Pebbles (India)
  • Petite Maman (France)
  • Prayers for the Stolen (Mexico)

Someone To Watch Award

The Someone to Watch Award, now in its 27th year, recognises a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition.

  • Alex Camilleri, Luzzu – WINNER
  • Michael Sarnoski, Pig
  • Gillian Wallace Horvat, I Blame Society

Truer Than Ficton Award

The Truer Than Fiction Award, now in its 26th year, is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition.

  • Jessica Beshir, Faya Dayi – WINNER
  • Angelo Madsen Minax, North By Current
  • Debbie Lum, Try Harder!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts